Showing posts with label Student. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Student. Show all posts

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

PhD Examination 「本審査」



PhD Examination「本審査 」

2014年 02月03日

火曜日

0900


A Dissertation By 

Toqwan


Guided By

Associate Professor Kouki Nagamune 「長宗 高樹」


Examiners

Professor Murase Kazuyuki 「村瀬 一之」
Professor Naniwa Tomohide 「浪花 智英」
Professor Hosoda Yosuke 「細田 陽介」

Audiences
Noorsuriana
Muhammad Khairul 
A few lab members

Monday, February 2, 2015

Prior to Big Day

明日は本審査があります。

少し緊張した。

#prayformysuccess

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Representative for 卒業式

I was told by my 先生 that I've been selected as the representative for 博士 student. I was like......

wahhhhhh~!!!

Okay....

"No problem 先生."
"How many of 博士 student that will be graduating?"

"9 students." 先生 said.

"I'm the only one from our department right.."
"へぇぇぇぇぇ~「Heeeee~」"

The 本審査 will only be held on 2月3日, but they asked me to become a representative already?... Huuhuhuuuuu....

InsyaALLAH..... I can do it!!!

楽しみ!!

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Preliminary Examination 「予備審査」



Preliminary Examination「予備審査 」

2014年 12月08日

月曜日

0900


A Dissertation By 

Toqwan


Guided By

Associate Professor Kouki Nagamune 「長宗 高樹」


Examiners

Professor Murase Kazuyuki 「村瀬 一之」
Professor Naniwa Tomohide 「浪花 智英」
Professor Hosoda Yosuke 「細田 陽介」

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

LaTeX Series: Embed Font & Generating Correct Margin

For IEEE submission, the font have to be embedded into the file. However, usually latex will not embed fonts such as Times-Italic, Times-Roman, Times-BoldItalic, Times-Bold, Helvetica and Courier.

It can be easily fixed using Adobe pdf printer, however you need to have Adobe Pro. As an alternative way, you could use terminal or command window to generate the desired pdf by using commands below.

Command Window
dvilatex file.tex
bibtex file
latex file.tex
latex file.tex
dvips -Ppdf -G0 -tletter file.dvi 
ps2pdf -dCompatibilityLevel#1.4 -dPDFSETTINGS#/prepress file.ps file.pdf

Terminal
ps2pdf -dCompatibilityLevel=1.4 -dPDFSETTINGS#/prepress file.ps file.pdf
[Source]


The command:

dvips -Ppdf -G0 -tletter file.dvi

will generate a letter size output. You can change the desired size by the -t option such as a4 to generate A4 size output.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Mixed Feeling

Sakit kepala..... never ending problem.... aduyaiii...... habis idea nak pusing macam mana dah..... 

Allahumma yassir wala tu'assir. Rabbi tammim bilkhoir. Birohmatikaya Arhamarrohimin.
Maksudnya: YaAllah Permudahkanlah Jangan Dipersulitankan dan Kau akhirkanlah dgn Kebaikan.


Put my lament aside.... Ramadhan semakin hampir.... tahun ni kurang betul berpuasa sunat.... Astaghfirullah...
Sebelum masuk bulan Ramadhan yang mulia ni, baik kita muhasabah diri...

Di mana iman kita sekarang?

Ya Allah.. kuatkanlah keimananku kepada Mu.... Jauhkanlah diriku dari tergolong dalam golongan orang yang rugi... Amin.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

How To Convert EPS to PNG?

Sometimes, when writing scientific journal, the publisher requires you to submit figures in MS WORD file. For me, it would be troublesome as I always save my figure in EPS format to be used together with LaTeX.

Luckily, INKSCAPE can save you from creating the figure from scratch. Follow these steps for EPS to PNG conversion:

  1. Open Inkscape
  2. Click File -> Import
  3. Select .eps file
  4. Click File -> Export Bitmap..
  5. Select Drawing 
  6. Change Bitmap size to 300 dpi or any desired value
  7. Click Export






Friday, April 18, 2014

MS Word Series: Microsoft Equation Editor 3.0 - How To Effectively Write Equation

Previously, I've wrote an entry about MS Equation Editor 3.0 here and a workaround in case of your equation do not display correctly. There was also an entry to reuse your LaTeX equation in MS Word here. However, some publication require the use of MS built in Equation Editor.

Luckily enough, the latest Equation Editor, MS Word 2007 and later allow the use of LaTeX syntax. The scope of this topic however, will be covered in another entry (if I have some interest to do so :p)...

Today, I would like to make some notes on how to save yourself time and hassle when typing using Equation Editor 3.0.

The answer is very simple....

Read and apply shortcut when writing the equation. Ask Dr. Google!!

The most handy shortcut would be:

  1. ctrl + L; subscript
  2. ctrl + H; superscript
  3. ctrl + J; sub & superscript
  4. ctrl + F; fraction
  5. ctrl + shift + 9; paranthesis
  6. ctrl + [; bracket
  7. ctrl + shift + {; curly bracket
  8. ctrl + R; square root
  9. ctrl + Shift + E; Text style
  10. ctrl + + / ctrl + shift + =; Math style
  11. ctrl + K, then A; Arrow 
  12. ctrl + K, then I; Infinity 
  13. ctrl + K, then T; times symbol
  14. ctrl + K, then < or >; less/greater than or equal to
  15. ctrl + G, then letter; insert Greek symbol
These shortcut made my life easy. How did I missed this simple thing??? ooowhhhh my...
More shortcuts here


Saturday, March 1, 2014

Qiqqa

Probably Mendeley and EndNote are the most popular reference manager so far. I don't think many people ever heard of qiqqa.

qiqqa is an awesome reference manager [RM]. The most important features of this RM are:
Integration with MS Word for ref. citation.

  • Easy to find missing reference with BibTeX Sniffer
  • Related articles recommendation
  • Tagging
  • Annotation
  • Annotation report
  • and many more

Here, I want to share an easy way to cite reference in your paper.


  • Press "Add citation" button. You can do this on a single pdf or multiple pdf. This button will insert citation-cluster (unformatted reference style) and merely indicate that there will be a citation there.
  • Add "My Bibliography Section" text at the reference section in your paper. This will alert qiqqa to insert bibliography here later.
  • Press "Add bibliography" button
  • Select your preferred CSL style (in my case: IEEE)
  • Click the magic wand "Reformat all citations"
  • DONE!!!

More on qiqqa functions and features can be found on  qiqqa manual.



Monday, February 17, 2014

LaTex Series: Equation

Equation Editor


Writing long equation in latex is challenging for beginner. Luckily TeXaide from MathType (obsolete) is (was) around (ask Dr. Google).

This simple program acts like Equation Editor in MS Word (Equation editor 3.0) and output latex code. It is very easy.
  1. Write equation
  2. Copy 
  3. Paste (latex code is automatically generated)
If you want to use this equation later using TeXaide, tick on the Edit->Translator->Include MathType data in translation. When you paste the equation, it will also paste a lines of commented weird text. These text is actually the one that you can paste into TeXaide and it will automatically translate into understandable equation.

See also: Equation in MS Word


Monday, February 3, 2014

LaTex Series: How to EPS

I spent a lot of time to figure out this eps stuff.

Cut the story short.

Save Powerpoint/Excel images as EPS

Method 1 (Recommended):

[Source via link here]

  1. Download and install LibreOffice
  2. Open a Powerpoint slide or Excel with LibreOffice
  3. Export it as a EPS file:
    • Powerpoint : File->Export->Choose EPS file type
    • Excel          : Right click an image->Export as Image->Choose EPS file type
  4. Open the generated EPS file with GhostView, and turn on menu "Option->EPS Clip and EPS Warn". Choose the menu "File->PS to EPS", allow the bounding box to be automatically calculated, and save with a different filename, say, figure_final.eps.

Method 2:

[Copy Paste via link here]

In case anyone needs to (e.g. for LaTeX compatibility)

These instructions are for windows 7.  See bottom of this page for older instructions I found somewhere on the Web.

Start button -> type in window "add printer"

in "add printer" dialog, go to:
 "add a local printer"
 in "choose a printer port", do "use an existing port" and select 'print to file'.
In "install the printer driver", select any PS printer, I chose HP ->  HP Color LaserJet 2800 Series PS

For printer name, chose e.g. "My Awesome .eps Printer Driver".
Do not share this printer.

When the wizard finishes and it is installed, type "print" (ctrl-P" from an Office program.  These instructions are for Office 2010.
I selected "My Awesome .eps Printer Driver", and just below that selector there is "printer properties" link.
Select that, choose "advanced tab", expand "PostScript Options", and for "PostScript Output Option", select "Encapsulated PostScript (EPS)" from the drop-down menu.

You can print with this driver to create .eps files.
Note that, at least from PowerPoint, the bounding-boxes may not be quite right (e.g. may correspond to the notional page rather than to your actual content).
I fixed this inside LaTeX with e.g.:

 \includegraphics[width=1.0\columnwidth,bb=60 215 705 755]{sgmm_fig}

These co-ordinates are upper-left (x,y), lower-right (x,y), I believe.  You can look at the .eps file in Ghostview and hover over the corners of your image to get the bounding-box co-ordinates (thanks to Mike Seltzer for this tip).

---
Comment from Rich Webb on how to automatically get these bounding box co-ordinates if you are using miktex:

Stop after the add-printer wizard completes. Do not go into the printer properties to change anything (I think that is what broke my earlier setup). Instead, just "print" through that virtual printer to .plt. This file is the plain-text PostScript job.

Run that file through ps2epsi (included in the MikTex distribution) from a command line as "ps2epsi .plt .eps". The resulting .eps file slides right into LaTeX with a bounding box that works perfectly for figures. Now if I can just convince it not to substitute Arial for Helvetica ...

Things to consider:
1) Place the figure on top left most of the slide. Otherwise, annoying white spaces will be haunting you forever as I had experienced. #grrrrrr
2) Rewrite the boundry box using notepad or similar editor. Save you the hassle of writing codes in latex.

Extra reading [graphics manual and another one here]

Other methods related to EPS can be found here

Convert PDF to EPS


  1. Open pdf file with inkscape
  2. Save as EPS
  3. In case you need to crop image area in inkscape, follow tutorial here




One Step Ahead

31 Jan 2014

After Jumaat prayer.

Received an email....

Alhamdulillah.....

First journal paper: Accepted!! 

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

CPP Series: Load Dynamic-link Library at runtime

I had trouble with this particular software which I couldn't call the .dll using windows 7. I gave up on using .lib method because a lot of error came out and I couldn't solve the link and conversion errors.

Loading the library at runtime require extra efforts but not so much once you get a hold of it.

Let say we have a .dll file which contain listed functions below:

short TUSBSLC_API Tusbs01lc_Device_Open( short id );
void TUSBSLC_API Tusbs01lc_Device_Close( short id );
short TUSBSLC_API Tusbs01lc_Single_Sample( short id ,double *Data);
short TUSBSLC_API Tusbs01lc_Start_Sample( short id ,short SampleRate);
short TUSBSLC_API Tusbs01lc_Get_Datas( short id ,double *Data,unsigned char *SerNum,unsigned char *Size);
short TUSBSLC_API Tusbs01lc_Zero_Adj( short id, double Data );


Firstly we need to declare in your header file (.h) these definitions:

typedef short (*DEVICE_OPEN)(short);
DEVICE_OPEN Tusbs01lc_Device_Open;

typedef void (*DEVICE_CLOSE)(short);
DEVICE_CLOSE Tusbs01lc_Device_Close;

typedef short (*SINGLE_SAMPLE)(short, double*);
SINGLE_SAMPLE Tusbs01lc_Single_Sample;

typedef short (*START_SAMPLE)(short, short);
START_SAMPLE Tusbs01lc_Start_Sample;

typedef short (*GET_DATAS)(short, double*, unsigned char*, unsigned char*);
GET_DATAS Tusbs01lc_Get_Datas;

typedef short (*ZERO_ADJ)(short, double);
ZERO_ADJ Tusbs01lc_Zero_Adj;


You could give any name to DEVICE_OPEN, DEVICE_CLOSE and so on. The colors will give you hints on how to create your own definition. 

Next, just call the function!!

HINSTANCE dllhandle = LoadLibrary("path\\TUSBSLC.dll");
if(dllhandle != NULL) {
        Tusbs01lc_Device_Open = (DEVICE_OPEN)GetProcAddress(dllhandle, "Tusbs01lc_Device_Open");
        Tusbs01lc_Device_Close = (DEVICE_CLOSE)GetProcAddress(dllhandle, "Tusbs01lc_Device_Close");
        Tusbs01lc_Single_Sample = (SINGLE_SAMPLE)GetProcAddress(dllhandle, "Tusbs01lc_Single_Sample");
        Tusbs01lc_Start_Sample = (START_SAMPLE)GetProcAddress(dllhandle, "Tusbs01lc_Start_Sample");
        Tusbs01lc_Get_Datas = (GET_DATAS)GetProcAddress(dllhandle, "Tusbs01lc_Get_Datas");
        Tusbs01lc_Zero_Adj = (ZERO_ADJ)GetProcAddress(dllhandle, "Tusbs01lc_Zero_Adj");
}
    else {
        ShowMessage("Unable to load the DLL");
} 


Finally, you have to release/free the memory at the end of your program.

if(dllhandle) FreeLibrary(dllhandle);

Good luck!!

Friday, November 22, 2013

LaTeX Series: Thesis Template

I found a good website on thesis template. Feel free to go through the site.

How to LaTeX:
Figure

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

CPP Series: Pointer to Pointer

Everytime..... this pointer fella give me headache... fuhhh...

here the reference for future headache [link].

This function modify the variable piStuff inside the function putStuff.

Example pointer to double pointer:

int **piStuff;
putStuff(&piStuff);

void putStuff(int ***ppiStuff)
{
    *ppiStuff = new int* [SIZE_A];
     for(int i=0; i<SIZE_A;i++) {
          (*ppiStuff)[i] = new int [SIZE_B];
     }

     for(int i=0; i
<SIZE_B;i++) {          
          for(int j=0; j<SIZE_B;j++) {
              (*ppiStuff)[i][j] = iSomeVar;
          }
     }
}


Example pointer to pointer:

int *piStuff;
putStuff(&piStuff);

void putStuff(int **ppiStuff)
{
    *ppiStuff = new int [SIZE];

     for(int j=0; j
<SIZE;j++) {         
         (*ppiStuff)[j] = iSomeVar;
     }    
}


Wednesday, July 24, 2013

MATLAB series: Neural Network Toolbox - newff

1) Calling newff function using the command;

net=newff(p,t,2);

will automatically scale the inputs and outputs to;

net.inputs{1}.processFcns = 'fixunknowns'    'removeconstantrows'    'mapminmax'
net.outputs{2}.processFcns = 'removeconstantrows'    'mapminmax'

2) If you were to directly export the weight generated from

[net,tr]=train(net,p,t);

to your program (i.e. C++), you will end up getting different result as compared to results generated by MATLAB.

3) This behavior was resulted from the preprocessing function described in (1).

network generated from newff(p,t,2)

network with 2 nodes in hidden layer


Process Input 1 from the default value of processFcns 

Process Output 1 from the default value of processFcns
 4) Hence, to use the weight in C++, you have to scale your input before multiply with weights and rescale your output to get the real output values.
For instance, to scale the input using mapminmax, you can use

y = (ymax-ymin)*(x-xmin)/(xmax-xmin) + ymin;

to get the scaled input between ymin = -1 and ymax = 1.

Finally, to scale the output back to original unit of the target, you can use

x = (xmax-xmin)*(y-ymin)/(ymax-ymin) + xmin;

5) Alternatively, you can disable the scaling preprocessing function by execute either of these command

net=newff(p,t,2);
net.inputs{1}.processFcns = {'fixunknowns' 'removeconstantrows'};
net2.outputs{2}.processFcns = {'removeconstantrows'};
%net.inputs{1}.processFcns = {}; 
%net.outputs{2}.processFcns = {};

6) The weights value generated can be directly exported to your C++ program.

Enjoy!!

UPDATE

preprocessing: mapstd

To scale the input:
y = (x-xmean) * (ystd/xstd) + ymean

To scale the output:
x = (y-ymean) * (xstd/ystd) + xmean

[sources: 1, 2]

Friday, June 28, 2013

Matlab Installation in Windows 7: Version 2007 and older

To install Matlab 2007 on Windows 7

1) Change Windows 7 Theme to the classic one (windows classic)
2) Install Matlab.

 To use Matlab with other windows 7 themes you have to change java used by matlab.

Update 
1) in my case, jre7 will not work. Change back to original java provided by Matlab and turns out the program run perfectly.

1) download latest java version and install it.
2) go to C:\Program Files(x86)\MATLAB\R2007b\sys\java\jre\win32 you will find a file named jre1.6.0 rename it to Original_jre1.6.0
3) go to C:\Program Files\Java you will find file named jre7 (jetX for Xversion) copy to C:\Program Files(x86)\MATLAB\R2007b\sys\java\jre\win32
and rename it to jre1.6.0

Now you can use matlab with all themes. [1]

Change the Matlab locale 

Unfortunately, there is no other way to change the Matlab locale except changing the user locale & system locale on Windows 7.

1) Go to Control Panel -> Region and Language
2) Formats Tab -> Choose your local
3) Administrative Tab -> Choose your local
4) Reboot
5) Enjoy your Matlab in your selected locale. [2]


Thursday, June 20, 2013

Hardware :- Complete!

I'm very happy today.....

My effort for the past 1 month has not been wasted....

The circuit & hardware system just worked!!!

Well.... Give my self a BIGGGG HUGGG~!


~in the middle of running Manjaro xfce4 using live USB~
~in fact, writing this entry using built in firefox~
~decided to install on my laptop to use for entertainment purposes; no need to burden my CPU with unnecessary work~

~arrrh.... upgrading manjaro completed!! ~

~details on next entry~

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Experiments

In the middle of performing experiments.
Calibration of the sensors.
Its really tough!

Have to do the calibration.... wait.... repeat..... take measurements.... wait... calibration... & repeating the steps over & over again.

wait.... wait...... bad result!!!